Review: The Colour of Magic / The Light Fantastic

The Colour of Magic / The Light Fantastic
The Colour of Magic / The Light Fantastic by Terry Pratchett

My rating: 1 of 5 stars

I know Terry Pratchett has a hard core following so I thought I’d give one of his books a try after years of considering it and walking past the shelf in the library. I’ve seen two TV adaptations of his books, including this story, which were amusing.

I found the book to be over-engineered and proud of its own wittiness and intelligence. Everything is thrown in – Gods, wizards, trolls, elves, gangs, dragons, heroes, murderers etc. It’s actually too much and less would have been more in this instance and it would have helped the storyline which is essentially a journey. Instead the protagonists bounce from one peril to another ad nauseam. There’s no moral realisation at the end of the journey (book) which you’d expect.

Things I liked in the book is the luggage and the camera demon.

I got bored frequently in the book and it consequently took me ages to finish the thing. I won’t be trying any further of this author’s books. It’s simply not my cup of tea.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

