Review: Very British Problems: Making Life Awkward for Ourselves, One Rainy Day at a Time

Very British Problems: Making Life Awkward for Ourselves, One Rainy Day at a Time
Very British Problems: Making Life Awkward for Ourselves, One Rainy Day at a Time by Rob Temple

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I bought this for a friend from abroad and on the long bus ride home I started to flick through the pages. Big mistake! I ended up reading a large chunk of the book without meaning to and laughing all the way home! Earning me curious stares from passengers, obviously tutting at the non-British behaviour of uncontrollable laughing, with tears leaking out of my eyes.

In this book, you learn how Brits like to make their own and others’ lives awkward by excessive love of queuing, elaborate tea making, obsessive talk about the weather and generally being uptight in social and private situations. I particularly enjoyed the ‘No sex please’ chapter. How Brits envy the Americans and Continental Europeans their ease in social situations! There’s even a test in the book to see if you suffer from the contagion taking over the country of ‘Very British Problems’. I’m afraid it’s too late for me!! I’m infected with this disease! ;-D
View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

