Review: Seven Deadly Wonders

Seven Deadly Wonders
Seven Deadly Wonders by Matthew Reilly

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I picked this up from the library on my way home one evening thinking this will be the sequel to ‘Six Sacred Stones’ that ended on a cliff hangar. Seven, following on from six, same characters and all that! Imagine my surprise to find this was a prequel to that book! The sequel to ‘Six Sacred Stones’ turns out to be “Five Greatest Warriors’. Of course the number sequence of these books is 7,6,5!! I should have guessed! :-S

The pace was too fast for me. It was like being a passenger in a car that is being driven at it’s maximum speed limit all the time ( a bit exhausting and stressful). There’s a lot of information thrown at the reader and not enough time to absorb it as the next change happens. I’d liked to have had a few changes of pace to consolidate information and learn some more fascinating information about the seven world wonders. As a reader I felt cheated on more information about the seven wonders and got a little bored with too many traps that Jack West had to go through. The traps became all one big blur. Maybe less traps with more detail would have worked better? This is a personal preference!

Fascinating assumption on how the Hanging Gardens of Babylon may have looked like. I would never have guessed it to look like that!

View all my reviews

